Baby Steps

from manitowoc.uwex.edu

“Line upon line, precept upon precept.”  To me that has always meant ‘baby steps,’ and that is how the Lord says He teaches.  I totally have found that to be true – even with this journey.

The first several days had simple and distinct impressions which were easily executable:

  • Work on an “Our Family Tree Book” (a special book project from CherishBound.com)
  • Note this particular scripture
  • Go to the book store; buy this particular book
  • This is the passage from that book I wanted you to see
  • Answer this email
  • Ask [your daughter, Teetee] this question

Some were a little more difficult, but not too bad.  Just a simple case of “swallow your pride and try:”

  • Learn to listen better to others
  • Be more charitable
  • Build your testimony

I was really surprised though on some days to see just how well the Lord knows me.  I honestly got these answers in that first two weeks:

  • “Enjoy time with your family.”
  • “Life is busy.  Keep on going.”
  • Even this ~ “I’ll tell you later.”  J

Can you believe that?!

But over this time, I could really feel my relationship with my Father changing.  I had loved my relationship with the Lord before – He had let me ask, discuss, vent, weep, bawl, even rant at Him and He would always lovingly be there for me through it all.  We had laughed together and cried together.  I even had imagined Him chuckling and rolling His eyes at some of my angsts.  But this was becoming something different …

We have been building a trust in each other.  I am building a trust in Him of which hadn’t been fully part of my heart before.  I trust that He Does Truly know me.  He loves me and cares about me.  And He wants the best for me wherever I am at and wherever I will go.  And He will give it all to me IF I will follow Him – no matter what.

And I was building my trust with Him.  He was learning that I was serious about this commitment.  He was learning that I really did want to get closer to Him – to become His in all aspects of my life.  He was learning to trust me to obey because I was learning that I would always be safe doing His will.  [Okay so He already knew all this being omniscient and everything – but it sounds poetic J]

What I didn’t know was that a tests were coming –

Leave a comment